LibGuides: Gender: Research Resources

Top Databases

Gale OneFile Gender Studies
The database offers access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
Gender and HIV AIDS
UN Women, in collaboration with UNAIDS, created this comprehensive online resource to provide up-to-date information on the gender equality dimensions of the HIV epidemic. The site aims to promote understanding, knowledge sharing, and action on the HIV epidemic as a gender equality and human rights issue.
GenderWatch
GenderWatch features publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas including media, health sciences, political science, and more.
JSTOR
An archive of scholarly journal literature in a variety of disciplines including economics, ecology, education, finance, mathematics, population, and more. The full-text of articles may be viewed and printed.
PAIS Index
Bibliographic index to the literature of public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general. Covers journal articles, books, government documents, statistical compilations, committee reports, directories, serials, and more. Coverage: 1972 - present. Produced by Cambridge Scientific Abstracts. Updated monthly.
ScienceDirect - Elsevier
A collection of over 2,500 journal titles, 400+ titles of which are subscribed and available full-text from 1995-present, with the backfiles of journals in economics, econometrics and finance available as far back as 1967. Elsevier Science journals form the core of the collection and titles focus on science, technology, and medicine, but mathematics, economics and other disciplines are represented.
more...less...
A collection of over 2,500 journal titles, 400+ titles of which are subscribed and available full-text from 1995-present, with the backfiles of journals in economics, econometrics and finance available as far back as 1967. Elsevier Science journals form the core of the collection and titles focus on science, technology, and medicine, but mathematics, economics and other disciplines are represented. Browse individual journal issues or search across all of them. Users may also set up search alerts and personal profiles. A list of all journal titles offered by ScienceDirect is available from their web site.
Sociological Abstracts
An international bibliographic database for sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database contains abstracts from 2600 journals, books, conference papers and theses on all aspects of sociology and related disciplines. Coverage begins in 1952; abstracts available from 1974. Updated monthly.
USAID - Developing Experience Clearinghouse (DEC)
Provides access to abstracts and full text documents from USAID, including: Reports, development project documents, and citations of documents held by USAID Information Centers.
Women in Politics Bibliographic Database
Developed with the contribution of the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP), the database is regularly up-dated to take account of new books and articles produced throughout the world on the subject of women in politics. It covers titles representing international, regional, country-by-country as well as thematic perspectives. A separate page on this site lists a number of useful Web links on this subject.

Related Websites

UN Women
UN Women is the UN organization delivering programmes, policies and standards that uphold women’s human rights and ensure that every woman and girl lives up to her full potential.
International Women's Rights Action Watch
IWRAW was organized in 1985 at the World Conference on Women in Nairobi, to promote recognition of women's human rights under the Convention on the Elimination on all forms of Discrimination against Women (CEDAW ).
USAID: Gender Equality and Women's Empowerment
International Center for Research on Women
ICRW is a private nonprofit organization founded in 1976, with three distinct aspects to its work: research, advocacy, and technical support for capacity building.
Women's Environment and Development Organization (WEDO)
Through programmatic initiatives on climate change, corporate accountability, UN reform, and women’s political participation and leadership, WEDO emphasizes gender equality and women’s critical role in social, economic and political spheres.
Overseas Development Institute: Gender Equality and Social Inclusion
Provide access to analysis on gender equality and social inclusion.

Primo Library Catalog

Recent Books on Gender
Books on gender issues, published in the last two years.
Journals on gender
List of journals on gender.
Journal articles on gender
Journal articles on gender, published in the past year.

Web Searches

Google Scholar
Search scholarly articles and working papers.
Google Books
Search within the full-text of thousands of titles.

Gender

Top Databases

Related Websites

Primo Library Catalog

Web Searches

WorldCat Discovery - Search for items in libraries near you