Toolbox for Authors: Writing and Sharing Your Research

AP Stylebook Online is a searchable, customizable guide for writers and editors that is updated throughout the year. Your subscription includes the popular Ask the Editor feature, where you can ask your own questions and search thousands of past answers, and Topical Guides, offering guidance to help you write about events in the news.

Daniel Torres-Valladares, Elvira Ballinas-García, Jessica Villarreal-Reyes, Valeria Morales-Álvarez, Carlos Ortiz-del-Ánge, Materials Today: Proceedings,
2021, ISSN 2214-7853

This list contains the best books on writing available at the WBG Library.

Authors/Editors: Kristoffer Bjärkefur, Luíza Cardoso de Andrade, Benjamin Daniels, Maria Ruth Jones, World Bank, 2021

Writing Differently is a critical, insightful, poetic and timely collection of essays, poems, plays and auto-ethnographic pieces that showcases the potential of academic writing. The volume will be of interest to those interested in alternative ways of working, researching, thinking, organizing, writing research and research lives.

Chapter 10: Writing Up Qualitative Research, in: Qualitative Research: A Guide to Design and Implementation, Fourth Edition, By: Sharan B. Merriam, Elizabeth J. Tisdell - 6h6m: John Wiley & Sons (US) © 2016

Provides information on manuscript preparation, punctuation, spelling, quotations, captions, tables, abbreviations, references, bibliographies, notes, and indexes, with sections on journals and electronic media as well as other matters pertaining to writing, editing, and the publication production process.

Recorded “Copyright Coffee” sessions on copyright compliance, usage of third-party images and content in digital media, copyright for publicly-disclosed documents and more.

Subscriptions to commercial electronic resources, such as databases, electronic journals, and news services are provided to assist staff of the IMF and WBG in their work. All staff, including librarians, are bound by the vendor agreements that govern the permitted and prohibited usage of these materials, whether physical or electronic. In addition, Bank staff must comply with the WBG Directive Copyright, available at https://worldbankgroup.sharepoint.com/sites/ppfonline/PPFDocuments/f1893cf7d57146c49c56cfe681ce555a.pdf. Learn about best practices to reduce copyright infringement.

This guide was prepared by COMEP specifically for staff use. It sets out Fund style for IMF publications, and provides for consistent use and treatment of terminology across the Fund, to ensure consistent messaging.

Audiobook. By: Sharan B. Merriam, Elizabeth J. Tisdell - Publisher: Gildan Media © 2019

The Digital Publishing and Internal Documents teams are responsible for publishing and dissemination workflows, copyright and rights issues, and the World Bank repositories (Documents and Reports Internal, Documents & Reports, the Open Knowledge Repository, and World Bank eLibrary). This work includes curating, cataloging, maintaining, and promoting the repositories. Digital Publishing is part of the larger World Bank formal Publishing Program, a cross-VPU function based in ITS and GCS.

The World Bank Group Publishing Program is the official publisher of record for WBG. It administers the Bank’s ISBN and reaches external audiences via global publishing marketing and distribution channels. Like other publishers, it acquires, transforms, and disseminates the Bank’s knowledge as formal book publications, applying rigorous standards in governance and best practices and standards in the publishing industry. To see if your work is a good fit for the program, visit the Publishing intranet site (FURL: publishing/) and contact the Publishing program to discuss your project.

The World Bank Group Publications Editorial Style Guide is an essential reference for manuscript editors (substantive and mechanical editors), proofreaders, and production editors. It is a supplement to other editorial references, in particular, The Chicago Manual of Style (annual subscription available online), 17th edition, and Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, 11th edition. It focuses on issues specific to the World Bank/International Bank for Reconstruction and Development (IBRD) or for which Chicago provides multiple options.

Suggested plagiarism detection software. The WBG Library does not subscribe this resource.

Grammarly’s plagiarism checker detects plagiarism in your text and checks for other writing issues.

Try the 'Reference check' feature. Upload your paper to see if any of your references have been retracted, heavily contrasted, or to see how others reference the same studies

Zotero helps you avoid relying on retracted publications in your research by automatically checking your database and documents for works that have been retracted. This service is in partnership with Retraction Watch, which maintains the largest database of retractions available.

Discussion Pieces

Jodi Schneider, Nathan D. Woods, Randi Proescholdt, Yuanxi Fu, The RISRS Team

Jenn Riley. NISO, 2017

IngramSpark, 2018

Yateendra Joshi. Editage Insights, 2014

Velany Rodrigues. Editage Insights, 2013