A guide to resources on Natural Disasters and their reduction and management. Unfortunately, licensed resources are available to only World Bank staff with an institutional user ID and password
Bibliographic index to the literature of public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general. Covers journal articles, books, government documents, statistical compilations, committee reports, directories, serials, and more. Coverage: 1972 - present. Produced by Cambridge Scientific Abstracts. Updated monthly.
Covers new scholarship and provides access to thousands of abstracts and full-text research papers. The Library's license includes full access to the following networks within SSRN: Accounting(ARN), Economics (ERN), Financial Economics (FEN), Legal Scholarship (LSN), Management (MRN), and Social Insurance (SIRN). World Bank Policy Research Working Papers, IMF Working Paper series, and National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) are searchable in SSRN.
An international bibliographic database for sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database contains abstracts from 2600 journals, books, conference papers and theses on all aspects of sociology and related disciplines. Coverage begins in 1952; abstracts available from 1974. Updated monthly.
Between 1970 and 2019, more than 11,000 disasters were attributed to weather, climate, and water-related hazards, accounting for more than two million deaths and USD 3.64 trillion in losses. Careful planning, early warning systems, wetlands protection and restoration, investment in infrastructure, awareness raising and education, and lowering greenhouse gas emissions can reduce disaster risk
The GFDRR is a global partnership that helps developing countries better understand and reduce their vulnerability to natural hazards and climate change.
IASC is the primary mechanism for inter-agency coordination of humanitarian assistance. It is a unique forum involving the key UN and non-UN humanitarian partners.
Disasters hurt the poor and vulnerable the most. Over the past decade, the World Bank has emerged as the global leader in disaster risk management, supporting client countries to assess exposure to hazards and address disaster risks.
